Convention week: Decision time for GOP

This week brings the GOP Convention in Cleveland where the nominee for the party’s ticket in November will finally be decided. From 17 possibilities it comes down to 1. This year’s convention is less of a celebration party than an actual decision event, of course. The Trump juggernaut has continued from start all the way down to this finish line but the party is divided as I’ve never seen it before.

The decision time has arrived for individual members of the party or those who, like myself, aren’t registered members but are closely aligned. There are many of us who never liked Donald Trump as the man to carry the Republican banner forward. I had 2 candidates during the primaries, myself, that I supported and I continue to think that either of them would be monumentally better for both the party and for the nation as a whole than Trump. Both of those candidates had their days at the ballot box, however, and more of my fellow… well, supporters of the Republican agenda felt that Trump was the better choice than what I thought. Such is life in a democratic community. I got my say, we held the vote, and my point of view lost.

So, what now? Aside from comments like this, I’ve pretty much held my tongue on the matter. Trump’s supporters’ commentary to the contrary, the nomination hasn’t been made, yet. When the party nominates him in accordance with the rules of the party’s convention then – and only then – will the decision be actually made. Then and only then will the decision then be mine: do I support the party’s nominee or not? There are consequences either way. Trump’s supporters and the party officials themselves have certainly made clear the ramifications of not supporting Trump, if he’s the nominee. But there are consequences to me if I do and, in spite of the dismissive attitude by Trump’s supporters toward those personal consequences, they are very real.

It is one thing to have someone I don’t really like win an election. It’s entirely different if they did so with my active assistance. The question for me is whether those consequences that I will carry in my soul outweigh the consequences to a candidate’s or party’s political aspirations. That’s a question I must answer.

But, all of that is premature at this point. Right now, I want to see what happens in Cleveland. If the supporters of the opposition party are the supporters of democracy that they claim to be, they’re going to leave us alone to make our decision. I have little faith that they will because… well, I don’t see that they actually support democracy. But, again, we’ll have to see.

Be safe and sage, delegates. We await the results of your work.

