On subjects and commentary: I’m a solo act

I’ve been working on some posts over the past few days and I plan on posting several this weekend. That raised a topic in my head that I thought I should write briefly about and that’s the issue of the subjects I choose to address. Here’s what you should know:

First, this is a hobby and a venting tool, not my day job. My day job, in case you’ve never been here before, is that of network architect and engineer. I design and build mission-critical network systems for… well, let’s just say they are clients for whom downtime of any amount is unacceptable. It’s something that takes up my day pretty solidly and that leaves no time to write on the blog. This is definitely something I do at home when time permits.

Second, I have a number of community obligations. I am a member of the Knights of Columbus, a wonderful Catholic men’s organization dedicated to assisting our communities, and our council is very active in our church. We’ve pretty much always got something going on, be it running a social event for the parish, assisting at the annual work camp, collecting and gathering monthly food donations for the county food banks, providing rides for folks at the senior living communities around the area, or any of the myriad of other tasks that need doing. I have a daughter in high school so… well, that’s all I need to say about that with regard to time requirement, right? Did I mention the honey-do list at the house? Yeah, got that, too.

Lastly, and this is important to recall, I write about topics that both interest me and for which I have something pertinent to add to the overall conversation. If a topic is being well covered by other writers, I will often not chime in. That’s not an indication that the issue is of no concern to me at all, just that I have nothing else to add. I have been called out on this before and I will repeat my comment at the time: I write about what interests me. If I’ve not mentioned a topic you find critical, start your own blog and write about it. Send me a note with the URL and if it’s good, I’ll share the link. Write well enough and I’ll put a link to your blog here on my page, even. If that sort of things rings your bell, and all.

And now, I’ll get back to the matters at hand. Thanks for stopping by and I hope to capture your interest in the days to come.

