Congressman Frank Wolf to retire

Virginia Congressman Frank Wolf has been the 10th District’s representative in the House for as long as I’ve lived in Virginia, and then some; he’s won the office in 17 elections. This evening, Congressman Wolf announced that he will not seek re-election in 2014.

Rep. Frank Wolf says he will not seek an 18th term in Congress next year.

The Republican who represents northern Virginia and the Shenandoah Valley announced his decision on Tuesday.

Wolf says he plans to focus his future work on human rights and religious freedom, both domestically and internationally. He says he will also focus on matters of culture and American family.

As much as I like Frank Wolf and have appreciated his service, I think this is a wise move. Congressional approval among the American electorate is at an all-time low and there are many, many of us who think that literally every member of Congress should be shown the door. In both Mark Levin’s book The Liberty Amendments and in commentary from the Convention of States there’s been a lot of interest in an Amendment mandating term limits for Congress. I approve of that idea and, like him or not, Frank Wolf has been around for far longer than the proposed 12 year limit.

Besides, it sounds like Frank’s got much better things to do:

As a follower of Jesus, I am called to work for justice and reconciliation, and to be an advocate for those who cannot speak for themselves.  I plan to focus my future work on human rights and religious freedom – both domestic and international – as well as matters of the culture and the American family.  My passion for these issues has been influenced by the examples of President Ronald Reagan, former Congressmen Jack Kemp and Tony Hall, Chuck Colson, and the life of 18th century Member of Parliament William Wilberforce

I approve. Thank you for your service, Congressman, and my best to you in the work ahead.

