Smartphones intrude in every setting–9% claim to have checked them during sex.

I knew smartphone addiction was bad but I have to say I have never – not once – thought about reaching for my Droid in flagrante delicto, as it were:

Detailed within a study conducted by Harris Interactive, approximately nine percent of American adults admitted to using a smartphone while engaging in sexual intercourse with their partner.

Of the more than 2,000 survey respondents, the largest percentage of adults that admitted this fact were split between Generation X and Millennial ages. Specifically, 20 percent of adults between the ages of 18 to 34 grabbed their smartphone during sex.

Excluding the often-unwise Polaroid moment – a.k.a. the “selfie” – during such intimate moments, I cannot for the life of me imagine just what the hell’s on a smartphone that’s that important that you can’t put off checking it until… er… later.

