Overrated? Shapiro's list of overrated songs shows music is seriously a matter of taste.

Via WTOP, I see that Ben Shapiro penned a post titled, “Top 10 Overrated Songs Of All Time.” With a title like that, you know it’s going to be totally subjective but, hey, I had to go see anyway. His list, and my reaction?

  • Any song by Lady Gaga – While there are songs of hers that set my teeth on edge (and please don’t force me to watch the videos!) I can’t agree that all of her songs are bad or overrated. Sorry, I think old Ben’s just a bit jealous that she can get viewership merely by existing.
  • “One” by U2 – Honestly, I can’t even hum a few bars of this one. So while I can’t speak to this particular song, U2 has a habit of droning on in a moaning, preachy voice on a lot of their tunes. I’ll go ahead and agree with Ben on the strength of that alone.
  • “My Generation” by The Who – Yeah, he’s got my vote on this one, too. There are songs by The Who I actually enjoy – ok, damned few but there are some – but this sure ain’t one of them. That people will actually request this song to be played is just amazing to me.
  • “Born to Run” by Bruce Springsteen – I’ll admit that this song “spoke to me” far more eloquently in my youth than it does now, but that’s not the definition of overrated to me. I like it. Maybe Ben’s letting his distaste for some of the recent antics by Springsteen color his perspective on this song?
  • “Stairway to Heaven” by Led Zeppelin – No. Wrong. Yes, it goes on for a long time but that’s all Shapiro’s giving for a reason. Oh, and that it annoys “millions all over the globe.” I’ll bet Shapiro’s got the same problem but that doesn’t make him overrated. Sorry, even if I do get a little tired at the length of this one, I can’t go with Shapiro’s judgement, here.
  • “Satisfaction” by The Rolling Stones – Not my favorite tune by not my favorite band but – seriously – Shapiro’s opening salvo at explaining why this song is overrated is because the lyrics use a double-negative? Really, Ben, that’s all you’ve got? They’re The Rolling Stones, not The Rocking Grammar Teachers. You won’t find this one on my iPod but it’s definitely not overrated.
  • “London Calling” by The Clash – I certainly know this song and, yes, I enjoy hearing it occasionally. But, to be honest, this band never rose to the level of “superstar” with me and, ergo, none of their tunes ever rose to the level where they could be overrated.
  • “Smells Like Teen Spirit” by Nirvana – Well, now, where do you go in terms of commentary from Ben’s pronouncement that this song is “aural herpes”? That’s a term that’s simply got to be bronzed and immediately encoded into the American lexicon. No, seriously, I can absolutely see myself using that down the road, here. And I’ve got to agree with him, here: this song is so badly overrated that it can only be drugs that makes people think it so good.
  • “Like a Rolling Stone” by Bob Dylan – Yeah, I have to go with Ben on this one, too. It’s bad lyrics with bad music sung by a guy whose singing voice makes me cringe.
  • “Imagine” by John Lennon – OK, you want to give the “any song by this artist is overrated” treatment to anyone, you can do it to John Lennon so far as I’m concerned. But out of all the overrated twaddle Lennon’s “ride-the-Beatles-coattails” career ever put out, this piece of aural herpes (see? Told ya!) is positively the worst. Blah musical score with a moany, insipid tribute to Soviet-style communism, this utter waste of air and example of acoustic pollution should, by all rights, be an unremarked embarrassment of a so-called song stuck on the rear end of some corroding 8-track tape somewhere, mercifully fading from the collective consciousness of Man. I could not agree more with Shapiro on this one.

So, any thoughts from the readership? Agree, disagree, any spectacular additions you’d put on there?

