Howie Lind, Chairman of VA's 10th District GOP, will not seek re-election as Chair in 2012

Howie Lind won the election for the 10th District Chair in 2010, taking over from outgoing Chairman Jim Rich. The election of that chair was a little contentious and occured amid some other controversy which the 10th District appears to be good at generating. Overall, however, in the almost 2 years of Mr. Lind’s stewardship, I can find very little to be all that incensed about. He’s been a decent Chairman and I can only hope that whoever picks up where he left off does as well. From the letter Mr. Lind sent:

Dear Friends,

If you want to hear God laugh, tell Him your plans. 

Last year I announced in several venues that I intended to run for reelection as your 10th District Chairman.  That was my intention.  I had the campaign planned out; I had my priorities set. Then two of my four daughters became engaged, and will be married this year.  Then my job responsibilities changed.  During Christmas, as I reviewed the family responsibilities that I had before me, and as I looked at the increased demands facing me at the job, I realized that I simply didn’t have the time to serve you – the great patriots of the 10th Congressional District – in the way that you should expect your Chairman to serve.

So, today I am announcing that I will not seek reelection.  I will, however, stay through May, when you will elect a new Chairman.  I have asked John Whitbeck — very well known and respected throughout the 10th and a recent candidate — to run and he has agreed to do so.  He has my support. 

Finally, let me tell you that it has been the great honor of my political life to serve you as Chairman.  I have forged so many great friendships.  I have come to know so many of you as the bedrock of our Party and our country.  You make the nation strong.  You make freedom work.  I don’t know what the future holds; perhaps I will be able to return in some capacity to politics in the years ahead.  But regardless, you each individually have my thanks and gratitude; may God bless you and may God continue to bless our Republic.
 
Thanks,

Howie

Good luck in your future endeavors, Mr. Lind.

One comment

Comments are closed.