Lori Waters will not seek re-election to the Loudoun BoS in 2011

Oh, man

In an interview Oct. 17, Supervisor Lori Waters (R-Broad Run) told the Times-Mirror she has decided not to seek re-election in 2011 when her term is up.

“I have made a decision that I am not running for re-election to the Board of Supervisors,” Waters said. “As Loudoun County has grown, my family has grown too. I am the first sitting female member of the board [of supervisors] to have two children while serving, so this is just the right decision for me and my family at this point in our lives.”

Waters said she will make a formal announcement at the regularly scheduled Board of Supervisors meeting Oct. 19.

I certainly understand why she wouldn’t want to run for re-election. I’m still unhappy about it. She’s been a vital voice of reason on this board and both her energy and rational nature will be hard to replace. Still, there’s time. In any case, thanks goes to Lori Waters for her service in this board and the last.

