Items of note

It’s been a very busy week at work, forcing me to pretty much keep my head down and even necessitating multiple after-hours conference calls. That’s unusual, to be certain, and it’s kept me not only from blogging but from even reading the news as I usually do. Since “the storm” seems to be lifting, I’m getting a chance to read up on a few things. Here’s the list of stuff that’s caught my eye this morning. I figured I’d just share what’s been interesting to me over the past couple of days and I hope to be able to sit down and write about them in the next day or so.

Democrats appear to be preemptively blaming their upcoming shellacking in November on the Citizens United case wherein the Supreme Court ruled that when the 1st Amendment directed Congress to “make no law… abridging the freedom of speech” it meant it. Never mind that most (if not all) of the advertising the Dems are so worried about was perfectly legal even before Citizens.

The summer weather in the DC area has been declared by The Weather Channel as the worst summer weather in the US. And before anyone starts up the “I told you so” chorus from the AGW choir, they’re talking about the storms that ripped the place up several times.

Comedy Central’s Jon Stewart reports that he is “saddened” by President Obama’s performance in office saying he “thought he’d do a better job.” Upon what would you base such a thought, Obama’s massive set of executive experience? His longevity in federal office? Sorry Jon, it’s not like we didn’t try to warn you.

Virginia’s own Congressman Frank Wolf went on record warning DoJ’s AG Eric Holder not to interfere with the testimony of Chris Coates into the matter of the New Black Panthers’ 2008 election-day polling place violations. That testimony is supposed to happen today, I believe, so I’m sure we’ll all hear more about that.

In a purely political move, the Democrats – who have failed for the 1st time in over 30 years to actually perform their duties as described in the Constitution and get a budget passed – are now going to just skip doing anything about extending the Bush tax cuts until after the election. They don’t want to be seen as slapping an effective tax increase on everyone before the elections and they don’t have the spine to stand up to their party leadership in representing their constituents. So, they’ll avoid doing anything… until after the elections. You know, when the American people are in no position to actually hold them responsible for another couple of years.

Not only did the GOP come out with a documented agenda, their “Pledge to America” was released nationally right here in Sterling, VA. Wish I’d 1) known that was the plan so I could have attended and 2) had enough time to actually attend. Oh well. I’ve only heard snippets about it, pro and con, and I’ll have to read it to comment further. Stay tuned.

Have a good Friday and hope your weekend’s restful.

