Busting 100.

While it might seem inconsequential to non-players, there’s a special target among amateur golfers to gauge their progress: scoring less than 100 for 18 holes of golf. Yesterday I played the Lassing Pointe course in Union, KY. Cutting right to the chase, I scored a 97 on the round, the 1st time in my life I’ve ever broken 100. Why yes, I am quite happy about it!

My brother-in-law counts Lassing Pointe as his home course so he was well familiar with all of the tricks and traps of each hole. He also brought a new driver to the course, a Taylormade R9. He offered me his previous driver, a Taylormade R360 XD. I took him up on the offer and, while I’m not of the opinion that there’s a “magic wand” of a club that will turn a duffer into Tiger Woods, this club performed spectacularly for me. As I’ve gotten better at golf over the past couple of years my drive range has slowly increased from a worm-burning 100 yards when I started to a weekend hacker’s non-embarrassing 190-200 yards. Yesterday, I routinely put them out to 240-250 yards. And the shots were straight. And they went where I wanted them to go.

Cue the mysterious music, kids.

As my fellow hacks will attest, actually making par on a given hole is also something to be viewed as progress. I’ve gone whole rounds without a single one. In fact, I could count on 1 hand the number I’d actually parred up to this point. Yesterday I managed to par 4 of them and I came literally within 2 inches of getting my 1st birdie on one of the par 3’s. That getting a birdie is within reach is something I couldn’t conceive of last year.

Anyway, it was a good day to golf, the course was both lovely and interesting, and I managed to bring my “A” game all at the same time. It’s rounds like that that keep you coming back.

One comment

  1. Say what you want about mysterious clubs making a difference, but when I switched to a new Taylor Made tour burner I could all of a sudden hit 250+ drives and 220 woods. I was amazed that a club could have so much influence. I don’t know if its real science or you just feel better with the new club and concentrate more on doing the correct mechanics. Anyway it is fun to just try!! I wish I had time to get out more often. Oh and congrats on the 100 Ric. I do know what that, pars and almost birdies mean.

Comments are closed.