President signed "Lifestyle Health Modification" program last week. Did you know what's in it?

This sounds like an incredibly dangerous program to liberty:

Last week, with little fanfare, among the ever deteriorating oil spill crisis, the White House quietly noted the issuance of an executive order “Establishing the National Prevention, Health Promotion, and Public Health Council”, in which the president, citing the “authority vested in me as President by the Constitution and the laws of the United States of America” is now actively engaging in “lifestyle behavior modification” for American citizens that do not exhibit “healthy behavior.” At least initially, the 8 main verticals of focus will include: smoking cessation; proper nutrition; appropriate exercise; mental health; behavioral health; sedentary behavior; substance-use disorder; and domestic violence screenings. Eventually we fully anticipate that the program will also target such wholesome activities as screening for precious metal holdings, monthly minimum usage of available revolving credit (and a minimum threshold thereto) and the susceptibility of an individual to stay current on one’s mortgage. Additionally, the president will establish yet another Advisory Group, composed of “experts” picked from the public health field, and one which tracks the successful uptake by the US population of the precepts for a better functioning society that the president deems important.

I suggest you read the linked post for details but here’s one of the duties of the Council the President just created:

(b) develop, after obtaining input from relevant stakeholders, a national prevention, health promotion, public health, and integrative health-care strategy that incorporates the most effective and achievable means of improving the health status of Americans and reducing the incidence of preventable illness and disability in the United States, as further described in section 5 of this order

Emphasis mine. Improving the “health status of Americans” as defined by…? And if the most effective method of improving the health status is to mandate a diet such as will result in a BMI in the “Normal” range how will that be accomplished? Or, perhaps, they could make the recommendation that personal ownership of automobiles represents to great a risk to the health status of Americans and should, therefore, be outlawed?

Don’t tell me they’d never consider it. 20 years ago you’d have never gotten me to believe the US government would take over automobile manufacturers, either. Or that localities would be trying to ban this or that food, you know, “for the good of Americans.” And how, specifically, are people assigned to be on this advisory board? Do we citizens get a say?

2 comments

  1. I’d say this was incredible but unfortunately I’m not surprised. The left wants to control every aspect of your life.

    I’m a fitness nut and I eat like a rabbit. My cholesterol is about as low as you can get. I think everyone should be this way.

    But the difference between leftists and me is that I think this is a personal choice and not the business of government. The government should be neutral on this stuff.

  2. Tom, Next time I see you I am buying you a thick, juicy hamburger.

    I do agree though, you have the right to be a big, fat slob in this country. I don’t recommend it, but I also don’t want some nanny-state bureacrat checking my plate before I eat dinner.

Comments are closed.