A dream worth living…

(Update: NovaTownHall Blog’s format makes it difficult to figure out who’s writing what over there. I’ve been advised that the article was written by NTH Blog contributor “Shiplap.” I’ve corrected this post to reflect that. Thanks to those who commented on this post to set the record straight!)

NovaTownHall Blog has a post up worth reading so I’m happy to link to it here. Something I’ve always thought was odd was the penchant for some black leaders to lionize Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and then steadfastly ignore the Doctor’s advice. In what is arguably his most famous speech, Dr. King spoke on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial in August 1963 and told the crowd gathered, “I have a dream.” One declaration from that speech has always resonated with me:

I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.

That’s a dream worth living and I’ve striven to make it part of my creed, the kernel of my person operating system (if you’ll pardon the geek reference.) Joe Shiplap over at NovaTownHall Blog was reminded of this speech recently when hearing the remarks of Jesse Jackson. Denouncing the vote of Rep. Artur Davis (D-AL) against the House version of the so-called “healthcare reform” bill, Jackson said, “We even have blacks voting against the healthcare bill from Alabama. You can’t vote against health care and call yourself a black man.” Joe Shiplap wrote:

I interpret this to mean that the ideal of the civil rights movement was for a man of color not to be seen as a man of color, but as a man, to be judged on the merits of his deeds. Enter Jesse Jackson, liberal, Democrat, telling us that Dr. King’s dream was wrong, that a man of color should be seen as a man of color, first, last, and always.

Indeed. So, is it Jackson’s view that Dr. King’s dream is not worth living, not worth pursuing? Sure sounds that way to me. I work daily with people of many races, of nearly all religious beliefs, and (of course) of both genders. It is what they do, what they say, and how they interact with me and others that makes the difference, not the color of their skin or anything like that. It is, as the man said, the content of their character that tells the tale and guides my assessments. It would be nice to see that attitude, so eloquently conveyed by that man at the Lincoln Memorial those many years ago, espoused by liberal leaders today.

Do have a read at NovaTownHall Blog. It’s got more insights.

2 comments

  1. Hey thanks for noticing the article, Ric! Actually, it was written by another blogger – Shiplap – and I know he will be flattered by your write up. (Our new theme makes it kind of hard to tell who writes which post.)

Comments are closed.