Clean Sweep!!! GOP takes Virginia!

Oh, what a night!

In a clean sweep of the statewide offices, Republicans Bob McDonnell, Bill Bolling, and Ken Cuccinelli have won their respective races for Governor, Lt. Governor, and Attorney General by crushing margins, roughly 20 percentage points. This is excellent enough news on its own, but there’s more for we residents of Loudoun County. That clean sweep extended to the House of Delegates races with GOP victories in the 13th, 32nd, 33rd, 67th, and 86th Districts.

Of special note to me, as longtime readers will know, is the butt-whuppin’ victory of Tag Greason over incumbent Dave Poisson in the 32nd. Poisson ran a dirty campaign, relying on surrogates and deceptions as his tools, completely running from his own record (with good reason.) The voters of the 32nd saw right through that nonsense and handed Greason a 57% – 42% win over Poisson.

I could not be more pleased with the results here in Virginia tonight. I’ve been up since 04:45 this morning, however, and this late-night partying thing is a dance for the young! I’m headed to spend some time with my wife before hittin’ the hay. I’ll write more about this all later tomorrow. If you’re interested in the scores, check out this State Board of Elections site.

For now, I’d like to offer my hearty congrats to our victorious Republican ticket!

2 comments

Comments are closed.