This "pastor" is no man of God

As a Catholic, I don’t take it kindly when someone proudly prays to God for someone to contract brain cancer and suffer a slow, lingering death. As an American, I find it appalling that someone would pray for that person to be the President of the United States. Yet that’s what Baptist Pastor Steve Anderson of Phoenix, AZ’s Faithful Word Baptist Church did, and he did it right from the pulpit during a sermon at Sunday Mass.

A Phoenix-area pastor has started to draw protesters to his congregation after he delivered a sermon titled, “Why I Hate Barack Obama,” and told his parishioners that he prays for President Obama’s death.

Pastor Steven Anderson stood by his sermon in an interview with MyFOXPhoenix, which reports that the pastor continues to encourage his parishioners to join him in praying for the president’s death.

“I hope that God strikes Barack Obama with brain cancer so he can die like Ted Kennedy and I hope it happens today,” he told MyFOXPhoenix on Sunday. He called his message “spiritual warfare” and said he does not condone killing.

Yeah, and I’m sure God appreciates the distinction. Actually, God was pretty clear with what he thought we should pray regarding our enemies: for their well-being and a change of heart so they weren’t our enemies any more. You’d think someone walking around with a job title of “pastor” would know that.

Anderson’s behavior is disgusting, pure and simple. Like him or hate him, President Obama is the duly elected executive of this country and I might add he’s a fellow American. I think he’s dead wrong, politically, and I sincerely hope his plans for this country are stopped before they do more damage. But that’s no excuse to publicly hope he dies soon. And there’s no excuse at all for wishing a death by cancer on him, most especially as part of a prayer to the Creator.

You’re no man of God, Anderson. I pray you figure that out before it’s too late to do you any good.

2 comments

  1. Thank you for pointing out the ignorance of some who take themselves just a bit too serious. He’s set the movement back several years. When the liberals try to devalue our valid input, they’ll hold this clown up as a poster child for the rest of us… represntative of our real points or not.

  2. Pardon the expression, but I feel your pain. There’s plenty of us on the left that cringe at the public utterances and actions of some “our own”. I try to keep those folks in mind when I see members of the right performing similar outrages.

Comments are closed.