Lucile Shaw Minchew, rest in peace.

As a result of my travels I’ve been a bit disconnected from the local news here in Loudoun and it was only on my return yesterday that I read the e-mail telling me of the passing of Lucile Shaw Minchew, mother of Randy Minchew whom I have mentioned here at HoodaThunk? several times. I never met her, personally, but I can be assured she was a fine woman of impeccable character given the example set by her son. Mrs. Minchew died on Christmas day.

I feel very clearly what that can do to a person. My grandmother died on Christmas day, 1974, literally with family surrounding her going about our Christmas celebrations. Being 1 step closer on the family tree than I was, I can imagine the impact on Randy and his siblings is just that much more. I know from personal experience that nothing helps this close to the passing of a parent but perhaps, down the road and with what healing time can provide, some small measure of comfort can be taken from the knowledge that she was called home on the birthday of Christ and that the heavenly hosts were singing their most resplendent songs. To be invited to that celebration is surely the greatest of honors.

May God grant Randy and his family the strength to persevere through this grief. Minchew family, you are in the prayers of my family today.

Eternal light and life grant unto her, O Lord, and peace to her family. We ask this in Jesus’ name…

Yellowstone rocks?

The ground is shaking in Yellowstone, apparently.

Yellowstone National Park was jostled by a host of small earthquakes for a third straight day Monday, and scientists watched closely to see whether the more than 250 tremors were a sign of something bigger to come.

Swarms of small earthquakes happen frequently in Yellowstone, but it’s very unusual for so many earthquakes to happen over several days, said Robert Smith, a professor of geophysics at the University of Utah.

“They’re certainly not normal,” Smith said. “We haven’t had earthquakes in this energy or extent in many years.”

In Yellowstone there is actually a large volcanic caldera – what amounts to a dormant volcano. (You can view the US Geological Survey’s information on it here.) There’s been discussions about the ramifications of that caldera suddenly going active and the term “supervolcano” was coined as a result. Definitely something to keep an eye on.