Saddam Hussein executed

MSNBC is reporting that Saddam Hussein has been executed.

Three years after he was hauled from a hole in the ground by pursuing U.S. forces, Saddam Hussein was hanged Saturday under a sentence imposed by an Iraqi court, al-Hurra TV, al-Arabiya and Sky News TV reported.

The deposed president was found guilty over the killing of 148 members of the Shiite population of the town of Dujail after militants tried to assassinate him there in 1982, during Iraq’s war with Shiite Iran.

Pajamas Media is among the many providing coverage.

It’s a Snap!

In blogging on the various items of the day I like to refer back to my previous writing on the subject, if any, so I can rely on past research and the like. In doing so today I was presented with a quick pop-up when I passed the mouse pointer over a link. Inside the pop-up was a small preview of the site I had linked to, courtesy of a plug-in that WordPress.com is testing called “Snap Preview Anywhere” or SPA. I thought it was pretty cool.

Apparently, I was selected as part of the Beta test group for this addition. I don’t mind at all and I hope you like it as well. I noticed there were a few links it was having trouble grabbing a preview for but perhaps it’s just a matter of bandwidth. Anyway, let me (or WordPress) know what you think!

NYT laments Saddam’s sentence, shows they still don’t get it

Ed Morrissey comments on the NYT’s editorial this morning wherein they lament on Iraq’s “rush” to execute Saddam. The Captain’s right. The Time’s problem isn’t that Saddam is guilty as sin – they admit that right up front – it’s that the Iraqis have decided to hold him accountable for his genocidal actions by putting him literally at the end of his rope.

The Captain has a problem with the death penalty as a rule. I don’t. There are crimes for which rehabilitation isn’t deserved and the mere risk of recidivism is too great to permit. Saddam’s actions qualify across multiple instances and my only real issue with the trial proceedings is that it’s taken too long for him to be publicly executed. Read up over at Captain’s Quarters for the details.